How to clear saved network login credentials in Windows 11 or 10

When you try to access secure network shares or start a Remote desktop session, you will be prompted to save the passwords.

If you checked the option to remember your login information, Windows would save your passwords for the next connection. However, suppose you accidentally entered the wrong credentials or are remembered for some reason. In that case, you will get an error message each time.

It is then advisable to delete the saved login data for the network connection. This is because these data are stored in Windows. You don’t even have to delete them directly; you can also edit them or add their login information. Here’s how it works.

How to delete or edit saved network login credentials in Windows 11 or Windows 10

Open the Control Panel. In Control Panel, change the “View by:” settings to “Large Icons” in the upper right corner. Then click on User Accounts.

User accounts settings in control panel Windows 11-10

After that, click on the “Manage your credentials” link.

Manage your credentials

After that, click on “Windows credentials” and in the “Generic credentials” table, click on the credential you wish to change or delete.

Edit credentials in Windows 11 or Windows 10

You can also use a shortcut to go directly to the saved network or Windows references.

Right-click on the Start button. Click on Run in the menu. In the Run window, copy and paste the line below:

rundll32.exe keymgr.dll, KRShowKeyMgr

Then click on the credentials you wish to delete or edit and click the desired button.

Edit Stored usernames and passwords in Windows 11 or Windows 10

I hope to have helped you with this. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top